Recorded domain sales over $1 million
37 sales of $1,000,000 or more from the audit.domains Sales Record, ranked by price. The record holds 52 sales in all; it is not a list of every sale ever made. Each entry links to the pages that state the sale. audit.domains was not a party to any of them. Download as JSON
How to read an entry
- Price basis
- “Price stated by the sources” means a source gives the figure as the price paid. “Price reported, not confirmed” means the figure is reported by the press without confirmation from a party.
- Evidence tier
- T1: a party’s own disclosure, a filing, a court record or an on-chain record states the price. T2: two independent publishers state it. T3: one publisher states it. A tier counts only sources whose quoted text contains the price.
- Date
- As precise as the sources: a year, a month or a day. Sales are ranked by price, not by date.
- Source hash
- The first characters of the SHA-256 of the page as fetched on the capture date. A page can change later; the hash shows what was read.
- 1.
ai.com
$70,000,0002025-04 · Tier T2Price stated by the sources · Private sale, brokered by Larry Fischer (GetYourDomain.com) · Buyer: Crypto.com (Kris Marszalek)
- TechCrunch · News report · 2026-02-08 · 7725d7a67607
- CoinDesk · News report · 2026-02-09 · 0c2bbdf208c3
- DNJournal · Trade press · 2026-02-06 · 8dbd062aa4e1
- 2.
Price stated by the sources · Private acquisition from Insurance.com Group, Inc. (Ohio) · Buyer: QuinStreet, Inc.
- DomainInvesting.com · Trade press · 2010-08-09 · 2a564128a644
- TheDomains.com · Trade press · 2010-08-09 · does not state the price · ee4da9ca2288
- SEC EDGAR (QuinStreet, Inc. Form 10-Q) · SEC filing · 2010 · does not state the price · 46f35c9e0aff
- 3.
- 4.
Price reported, not confirmed · Private (leaked/unofficial report) · Buyer: Qihoo 360
- DomainGang · Trade press · 2015-02-06 · bdadbbfe48d2
- IBTimes · News report · 2015-02-06 · does not state the price · 7fc6a7941da3
- 5.
Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: Dharmesh Shah (HubSpot co-founder)
- DomainGang · Trade press · 2024 · b78fa78f6f0d
- TechCrunch · News report · 2024-11-06 · f5a892d16ec9
- 6.
rocket.com
$14,000,0002024 · Tier T2Price stated by the sources · Unknown (sale disclosed via seller's SEC filing, not a named marketplace) · Buyer: Rocket Companies
- Domain Name Wire · Trade press · 2024-10-28 · fa931a2aef50
- FreeSpeech.com · Trade press · 2024-10-25 · 293716708e8a
- 7.
sex.com
$13,000,0002010-11 · Tier T2Price stated by the sources · Sedo.com-run auction under Escom LLC's bankruptcy proceedings (court approval required) · Buyer: Clover Holdings Ltd
- 24/7 Wall St · News report · 2010-10-22 · c7b10733e0cd
- NBC News · News report · 2010 · 878aebd99cca
- 8.
Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: Monaco (renamed Crypto.com)
- DomainInvesting.com · Trade press · 2026-02-11 · 917a3174ca76
- Cheddar · News report · 2018 · 5767d5b67e9a
- 9.
icon.com
$12,000,0002025-04-24 · Tier T2Price stated by the sources · Private, brokered by Andrew Miller (ATM Holdings/Hilco Digital Assets) for the seller; Lumis represented the buyer · Buyer: Icon (AI marketing startup; CEO Kennan Davison)
- DNJournal · Trade press · 2025-04-24 · 6d6288f5f245
- DomainInvesting.com · Trade press · 2025-04-24 · 3d7325afd032
- 10.
Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: Tesla, Inc. (Elon Musk)
- OnlineDomain.com · News report · 2018-12-09 · f6bba5ab47dd
- 11.
Price stated by the sources · Escrow.com · Buyer: Club (invite-only creator social platform)
- DomainGang · Trade press · 2026 · 47bc094fc57a
- DNJournal · Trade press · 2026-04-14 · 1383cf6c2e02
- 12.
Price stated by the sources · Unknown (price disclosed via SEC filing, not a named marketplace) · Buyer: HubSpot
- Domain Name Wire · Trade press · 2022-08-07 · acf36cd344a8
- 13.
porno.com
$8,888,8882015-02-03 · Tier T3Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: WGCZ
- DomainIncite · Trade press · 2015-02-03 · 04173796dfb2
- 14.
Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: eCompanies
- History of Domain Names · Trade press · 1999-12-01 · fdfa48b8d60b
- 15.
diamond.com
$7,500,0002006-05-17 · Tier T3Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: Ice.com
- Domain Name Wire · Trade press · 2006-05-17 · 55052683adf9
- 16.
Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: Splash (stealth-mode fintech startup)
- FreeSpeech.com · Trade press · 2026-05-09 · c6f0a21acd32
- DNJournal · Trade press · 2026-05-27 · 05c6651bd07c
- 17.
beer.com
$7,000,0002004 · Tier T3Price stated by the sources · Private
- TheDomains.com · Trade press · 2014-01-11 · 40119dab423e
- 18.
Price stated by the sources · SnapNames auction, facilitated by Moniker
- TechCrunch · News report · 2010-05-13 · 53c0441f34b0
- 19.
Price stated by the sources · Court-supervised bankruptcy re-auction (of the former eToys/Parent Company estate), subject to court approval · Buyer: Toys "R" Us, Inc.
- Domain Name Wire · Trade press · 2009-02-27 · 705265579217
- 20.
Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: eHealthInsurance Services, Inc.
- Domain Name Wire · Trade press · 2014-05-02 · dbc9845d3739
- 21.
Price stated by the sources · Dan.com (lease-to-own installment sale) · Buyer: Intis Telecom
- DomainGang · Trade press · 2022-06-15 · dc11f50a1e7f
- 22.
Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: Hangzhou Duomai E-Commerce Co. (parent of 4.CN)
- DomainGang · Trade press · 2015-02-26 · 0837034653b7
- 23.
Price stated by the sources · Auction · Buyer: Bank of America
- History of Domains · Trade press · 2000 · 86741589fd09
- 24.
Price reported, not confirmed · Sedo.com auction
- The Daily Record · News report · 2008-04-04 · f3bccef44672
- 25.
Price reported, not confirmed · Private, co-brokered by Moniker.com and Marksmen/NameQuiver.com
- TechCrunch · News report · 2011-06-22 · 37ed46acf463
- 26.
Price stated by the sources · Sedo
- Domain Name Wire · Trade press · 2011-05-11 · f3f30feb6851
- 27.
Price stated by the sources · Open market · Buyer: Immutable Holdings, Inc.
- FreeSpeech.com · Trade press · 2021-09-29 · 17b27325ee1b
- 28.
- 29.
Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: REDC (Real Estate Disposition Corp)
- TheDomains.com · Trade press · 2009-03-18 · f29b8ac7499a
- 30.
Price stated by the sources · Media Options (broker)
- Domain Name Wire · Trade press · 2024-08-12 · b2e3deadd980
- 31.
- 32.
Price reported, not confirmed · Private, brokered by Adam Chase (Lumis) · Buyer: Nuseir Yassin (NAS.io founder)
- DomainInvesting.com · Trade press · 2026-04-15 · bf03e216c280
- 33.
- 34.
Price stated by the sources · Unknown (disclosed via SEC filing) · Buyer: Tribune Publishing Company (NYSE: TPUB)
- Domain Name Wire · Trade press · 2016-05-09 · dddf365124dc
- 35.
Price stated by the sources · Sedo
- DNJournal · Trade press · 2026-01-05 · 6b811dfa1c36
- 36.
Price stated by the sources · Private · Buyer: Tsunami VR, Inc.
- GlobeNewswire (via VPN.com) · Press release · 2020-12-24 · 85211ccbdb62
- 37.
Price stated by the sources · Unknown (discovered via financial filing)
- DNJournal · Trade press · 2026-05-27 · bef72b72fcac
In the record but not listed
15 of the 52 recorded sales are left out of the list above.
- 114.com: no source left that states the price
- casino.com: no source left that states the price
- computer.com: no source left that states the price
- creditcards.com: no source left that states the price
- gold.com: no source left that states the price
- healthcare.com: no price disclosed
- healthinsurance.com: no source left that states the price
- invest.com: no source left that states the price
- marketing.com: no source left that states the price
- mi.com: no source left that states the price
- mortgage.com: no source left that states the price
- nfts.com: no source left that states the price
- porn.com: no source left that states the price
- shop.com: no source left that states the price
- z.com: priced in JPY, not converted
Links to DNJournal archive pages dated before 2025 are not shown, so sales whose only price source is such a page appear here rather than in the list.
Checking the record
The record is an append-only ledger in which every row includes the hash of the row before it, so changing an earlier row breaks every later one. The ledger has 52 rows and its latest hash is 0ff75d3cbc2659598020db9fc8286de71c6f8980050516bc90f379178b00ef44. The latest source capture on this page was made on 2026-09-26. Prices are as the sources state them; audit.domains has not re-verified each sale.